Tour de Yorkshire
Leeds City Council comment on the Tour de Yorkshire finale
1 min read

Leeds City Council comment on the Tour de Yorkshire finale

Olympic champion Greg Van Avermaet sealed overall victory in the Tour de Yorkshire in one of the most memorable finishes in the race’s short history.

BMC Racing’s Van Avermaet trailed Magnus Cort Nielsen by 10 seconds at the start of Sunday’s finale, but he did not require a stage victory to clinch the overall win as he led a chase behind winner Stephane Rossetto.

General classification after final stage:

  1. Greg van Avermaet (Bel/BMC Racing) 16hrs 38mins
  2. Eduard Prades (Spa/Euskaltel-Murias) +09secs
  3. Serge Pauwels (Bel/Dimension Data) +14secs
  4. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro/Katusha) +19secs
  5. Michael Storer (Aus/Sunweb) Same time

Stage four result:

  1. Stephane Rossetto (Fra/Cofidis) 4hrs 53mins 22seconds
  2. Greg van Avermaet (Bel/BMC Racing) +34secs
  3. Ian Bibby (GB/JLT Condor) Same time
  4. Edward Dunbar (Ire/Aqua Blue Sport)
  5. Eduard Prades (Spa/Euskaltel-Murias)

Stage three result:

  1. Max Walscheid (Ger/Team Sunweb) 4hrs, 10mins, 27secs
  2. Magnus Cort Nielsen (Den/Astana) Same time
  3. Jon Aberasturi Izaga (Spa/ uskadi Basque Country-Murias)
  4. Bryan Coquard (Fra/Vital Concept)
  5. Robert-Jon McCarthy (Ire/JLT Condor)

Stage two result:

  1. Magnus Cort (Den/Astana Pro Team) 3hrs 25mins 34secs
  2. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel/BMC Racing Team) Same time
  3. Eduard Prades Reverter (Spa/Euskadi Basque Country-Murias)
  4. Serge Pauwels (Bel/Dimension Data)
  5. Jonathan Hivert (Fra/Direct Energie) +5secs

Stage one result:

  1. Harry Tanfield (GB/Canyon Eisberg) 4hrs 09mins 12secs
  2. Alistair Slater (GB/JLT Condor) Same time
  3. Michael Cuming (GB/Madison Genesis)
  4. Emerson Oronte (USA/Rally Cycling)
  5. Tom Baylis (GB/One Pro Cycling)

Women’s Tour de Yorkshire:

  1. Megan Guarnier (USA/Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam) 3hrs 19mins 50secs
  2. lena Amialiusik (Blr/Canyon-SRAM Racing) +14secs
  3. Danielle Rowe (GBR) +17secs
  4. Erica Magnaldi (Ita/BePink) +22secs
  5. Ane Santesteban (Spa/Ale Cipollini)

Leeds City Council Leader Councillor Judith Blake said:

“What an incredible four days it has been for Leeds and for Yorkshire. It was excellent to see the people of Leeds turn out in their thousands in the sunshine and give the riders an electric reception when they arrived at the finish line on the Headrow.

“Well done to those who competed and a big thank you to everyone who got involved and helped to make this year’s Tour de Yorkshire finale the best yet.

“Hosting the Tour de Yorkshire gives us the opportunity to showcase Leeds to the world and encourages investment in the city, but it also inspires people of all ages and abilities to cycle more, something that we are really passionate about in Leeds.”

Previous Story

Saddle up for celebration of vintage cycling style on TdY weekend

Next Story

Reminder: Culvert repair works to be carried out on A658 Pool Bank New Road from Tuesday 8 May